Spieth Disqualified from Hole for Rules Infraction

By SwingxSwing
Sunday October 1st, 2017 7:12 am EDT




Saturday at the 2017 Presidents Cup offered some more fun with the Rules of Golf.

On Friday, the International Team’s Anirban Lahiri was forced to pick his ball up mid-hole for an infraction that was occurred a hole earlier. On Saturday, it was Jordan Spieth who got pinched by a ridiculous rule when he stopped and tossed Louis Oosthuizen’s ball back to him following the South African’s aggressive eagle putt. 

GolfChannel.com’s Rex Hoggard had the details of the ruling.

A day after Anirban Lahiri was disqualified from a hole at the Presidents Cup for violating a little-known rule, Jordan Spieth found himself in a similar situation after violating an even more obscure rule.

All square in his afternoon fourball match paired with Patrick Reed, Spieth stopped Louis Oosthuizen’s golf ball as it rolled well past the cup on the 12th hole.

The rules official walking with the match informed Spieth that he’d violated Rule 1-2 by exerting influence on an opponent’s golf ball, which resulted in his disqualification from the hole and the eventual loss of the hole.

“I only stopped it because our fans were screaming for it to keep going,” Spieth pleaded with the official, Andy McFee.

After a lengthy discussion with Spieth, Reed and assistant U.S. captain Tiger Woods, the official maintained the American had violated the rule even though Oosthuizen’s eagle attempt had rolled past the hole and the International team (Jason Day) already had made birdie.

Oosthuizen and Day were also uncomfortable with the ruling and offered to concede the 13th hole to the Americans and square the match, but Spieth declined the offer.

“There was a lot of really goodwill and good sportsmanship in there. It’s a sh—y rule,” said International captain Nick Price. “It really is. A shame. I felt so bad for Jordan. We all did, because he didn’t do it with any intent or any malice.”

Spieth and Reed rallied to win the match, 2 and 1, with birdies at Nos. 16 and 17.

What may go unseen in the chaos was McFee’s brushing off of assistant captain Tiger Woods. Pleading a case on his player’s behalf, McFee tells Tiger, “This is just between me and Spieth,” without so much as eye contact with Woods.

Despite the confusion and hole disqualification, the U.S. team not only held onto the large lead they brought into Saturday, they built upon it making Sunday’s singles matches almost a foregone conclusion. The Americans lead the Internationals 14.5 to 3.5 and need only one more point to win the Presidents Cup.

Here are the highlights from Saturday at Liberty National. 


[GolfChannel.com]

— — — 

Keep yourself up-to-date with the latest goings-on in the world of golf by following the SwingxSwing Clubhouse on social media. We share stories, stats and breaking news on Twitter, keep the fun going off the course on Instagram and share any and all golf-related topics on Facebook.

Never be the odd golfer out when your friends are talking about the latest or funniest happenings in golf. Sign up for the SxS newsletter today!

Recommended For You

Swing By Swing logo