Golfers No Longer Penalized For Double Hits

Ryan Rustand

Ryan Rustand

SwingU Instructor

Under Rule 10.1a, if the player’s club accidentally hits the ball more than once during a single stroke there will be no penalty and the ball will be played as it lies.

Where a double hit occurs as part of a single stroke and was not the intention of the player, it was felt unfair and unnecessary for the player to be penalized.

Just as there is no penalty if a player’s ball accidentally deflects off his or her body, equipment or caddie, there is no need for a penalty when a player accidentally strikes his or her own ball in making a stroke.

  • Accidental deflections are, by definition, an accident.
  • The outcome in such cases is random and unpredictable, and it results in a disadvantage for the player as often as it results in an advantage.

RELATED STORIES

USGA Relaxes Rules For Holing Out, Handicap Posting During Outbreak
Lifestyle
PGA Of America Blasts Chamblee For “Disgraceful” Comments
Tour
Feds Find $30K Of Cocaine Smuggled In Club Shafts
Lifestyle