Do You Get Free Relief From OB Stakes?

Ryan Rustand

Swing-U Instructor

Unfortunately, under the USGA rules, you are not allowed to move an out of bounds stake if it interferes with your play.

The out of bounds stakes are fixed and are used to mark the boundaries of the golf course. The stakes are determined by the inside points, at ground level, of the stake. As a result, they are out of bounds and cannot be removed.

You can either play the ball as it lies, or take an unplayable under Rule 28, but removing the stake as you could for a hazard or yardage stake is not an option. 

MORE GOLF 101 VIDEOS

Where Can You Tee Off From?
Where Can You Tee Off From?
Taking Relief From Casual Water
Taking Relief From Casual Water
Taking An Unplayable Lie In A Bunker
Taking An Unplayable Lie In A Bunker
Ruling For Accidentally Tapping Your Golf Ball
Ruling For Accidentally Tapping Your Golf Ball
Differences Between A Waste Bunker And Normal Bunkers
Differences Between A Waste Bunker And Normal Bunkers
Improve Your Start Lines With An Alignment Rod
Improve Your Start Lines With An Alignment Rod
When Do You Get Relief From A Movable Obstruction?
When Do You Get Relief From A Movable Obstruction?
Can You Practice Mid-Round?
Can You Practice Mid-Round?
Relief From An Immovable Obstruction
Relief From An Immovable Obstruction
MORE TIPS