No Penalty For Accidental Deflection Off Playing Partner

Josh Kelley

Josh Kelley

SwingU Instructor

If you’re a player who prefers to have the flagstick out when putting, you’ll still likely use the option of having a playing partner attend the flag for you when you’re putting from distance. Should your ball accidentally strike the playing partner attending the flagstick, or the flagstick itself, under Rule 13.2b(2), there is no penalty and the ball should be played as it lies.

Conversely, if there’s a little bit of foul play at hand and that same partner deliberately stops the ball or leaves the flagstick in the hole, there will be a penalty under Rule 11.2c (general penalty). The penalty is a loss of hole in match play or a two-stroke penalty in stroke play.

RELATED STORIES

Mickelson Stars In Funny Amstel Light Commercial
Tour
Tour Winner Slams Love III, CBS Golf Broadcast
Tour
Alex Rodriguez’s Incredible Equipment Setup Is Must-See
Tour