Ruling For Accidentally Tapping Your Golf Ball

You see it all the time… a player accidentally makes contact with the golf ball on the tee box or in the fairway, but do you know the proper ruling? Swing-U instructor Ryan Rustand shares what happens in each scenario from the tee through the green.  

 We all have run into the situation where you may have knocked the ball off of the tee while on the tee box. This will not result in a stroke as long as there was no intent to hit the ball. Simply tee the ball back up and take your shot.

When your ball is in play, say in the fairway or rough, but not yet on the putting surface, and you accidentally cause it to move, you must add a penalty stroke and replace your ball.

RELATED STORIES

Koepka Ignores Tiger’s Practice Round Request
Tour
Golfer Caught Cheating By News Helicopter
Lifestyle
Golfer Makes 21 On Hole, Still Signs His Scorecard
Lifestyle