When Can You Hit A Ball In Motion?

Almost every golfer knows that they aren’t supposed to hit their golf ball while it is moving. But it’s important to realize that rule 14-5 gives us three exceptions on when we can hit our ball while it is in motion.

In this video,  Swing-U instructor Josh Kelley explains rule 14-5.

A player must not make a stroke at his ball while it is moving.


  • Ball falling off tee – Rule 11-3
  • Striking the ball more than once – Rule 14-4
  • Ball moving in water – Rule 14-6

When the ball begins to move only after the player has begun the stroke or the backward movement of his club for the stroke, he incurs no penalty under this Rule for playing a moving ball, but he is not exempt from any penalty under Rule 18-2 (Ball at rest moved by player).

(Ball purposely deflected or stopped by player, partner or caddie – see Rule 1-2)

14-6. Ball Moving in Water

When a ball is moving in water in a water hazard, the player may, without penalty, make a stroke, but he must not delay making his stroke in order to allow the wind or current to improve the position of the ball. A ball moving in water in a water hazard may be lifted if the player elects to invoke Rule 26.


Daly Rushed Into Emergency Surgery For Spider Bite
Golfer Caught Cheating By News Helicopter
Golfer Makes 21 On Hole, Still Signs His Scorecard