6 USGA Championship Blunders – Page 6

 

2016 U.S. Open – DJ Ruling

 

Facing a five-foot par putt on the 5th green, Johnson went through his routine making short practice stokes near the ball when this happened:

Johnson was two shots back of 54-hole leader Shane Lowry at the time. He called over a rules official who granted him a reprieve because Johnson felt he didn’t cause the ball to move. Having had a few other instances of balls moving on the slick Oakmont greens already this week, the issue seemed to be done and dusted until seven holes later when Johnson was told on the 12th hole that he may be assessed a penalty for causing the ball to move. Johnson said knowing that he didn’t cause it to move, he wasn’t bothered by the USGA’s message that they would be looking further into the matter following the round. And this all happened while DJ was neck-and-neck with the likes of Lowry, Scott Piercy and Sergio Garcia coming down the stretch at the U.S. Open. Of course, DJ went on to claim his first major regardless of the USGA’s awful decision. 

 

<— Previous Page

 

Related Content:

Father’s Day Gift Guide 2017

10 Insane Golf Betting Payouts

Tour Winner WAGs: Tori Slater

10 Must-Read Golf Books

10 Great Driving Ranges in America

10 Best Tee Markers on Tour

10 Ridiculous Amateur Water Hazard Fails

RELATED STORIES

Koepka Ignores Tiger’s Practice Round Request
Tour
Tour Caddie Disqualified For Shooting 202 In Qualifier
Tour
Cowen Slams Wallace: “Idiot… Needs A Ban”
Tour