Nicklaus Praises HS Golfer Who Self-Reported Error

Having praise heaped upon you by the greatest champion golf has ever seen was the thrill of a lifetime for South Dakota high school golfer Kate Wynja, but the reason why she’s being lauded was the result of a very difficult decision. 

 

Playing in the Class A state golf tournament, Wynja, the defending state champion, signed for a 4 on the 18th hole instead of the 5 she made. She realized the mistake as scores were being posted to the tournament leaderboard and knew the consequences right away: she would be disqualified and it would cost her team their first state title since 2011.

 

“I knew I needed to tell them,” Wynja said, according to The Argus Leader. “It was really sad, mostly because I knew what the result would be. I knew that I would be disqualified and it broke my heart for the team. But I knew I couldn’t leave without saying something.”

Despite their best efforts, the tournament committee could not find a loophole or ruling to soften the blow. Wynja was DQ’d and her score was taken away from her team’s total, which resulted in a runner-up finish. 

“It was awful and I feel truly awful for her,” Dan Swartos, one of the tournament directors said. “I have so much respect for Kate to come up and do that. I cannot say enough for that young lady and how much integrity that took, and how proud I am to have kids like that in South Dakota.”

The self-report has garnered Wynja accolades throughout the golf community, including a personal tweet from Jack Nicklaus. 

 

Wynja was playing in her final high school event. The graduating senior will continue her golf career at Northwestern College in Orange City, Iowa.

 

RELATED STORIES

Texas Golfer Killed In Cart Crash At California Resort
Lifestyle
Tiger Stars In Hilarious Tonight Show Skit
Tour
Mickelson Hits A Driver Out Of A Bush In Vegas
Tour