ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW

Euro Tour Pro Assessed Penalty, Is Not Pleased

 

Golf has a lot of rules, but if you play or officiate the game for a living, it would be wise to know all of them. On Friday we were greeted to yet another controversial ruling. This one occurred during the second round of the European Tour’s BMW International Open when Denmark’s Thorbjorn Olesen’s ball suddenly rolled back into the water while he was eyeing his next shot. 

Olesen hit his approach on the par-4 fourth hole into a steep bank and it trickled into the pond guarding the front of the green. After two failed drops, he placed the ball per the normal procedure. He then walked toward the green, only to watch his ball roll back into the water again.

The referee with the group told Olesen there was no penalty and he proceeded to place the ball again and get up and down for bogey. However, soon after he was informed by Chief referee Andy McFee that the official was wrong. Olesen was assessed a one-stroke penalty since they deemed his ball at rest, meaning it was in play, and there was no outside agency that caused his ball to move.

 

However, according to Olesen, the ball was still moving ever so slightly even when we made his way to the green. As you can tell by his reaction, he was not pleased with the situation.

Here is Andy McFee attempting to clear up the incident. 

[Golf Channel]

 

— — —

Keep yourself up-to-date with the latest goings-on in the world of golf by following the SwingxSwing Clubhouse on social media. We share stories, stats and breaking news on Twitter, keep the fun going off the course on Instagram and share any and all golf-related topics on Facebook.

Never be the odd golfer out when your friends are talking about the latest or funniest happenings in golf. Sign up for the SxS newsletter today!

RELATED STORIES

Hotel Fire Nearly Causes Phil To Miss Tee Time
Tour
Horschel Says Woods Should “Play Better” To Reach Atlanta
Tour
Thomas Won $1,000 Off Koepka With Eagle Hole Out
Tour