Caddie Calls Penalty on His Player

By SwingxSwing
Saturday October 7th, 2017 7:01 am EDT

Twitter/@Golfweek

 

Standing up to your boss is difficult to do, especially on your first day on the job and especially on one of the most iconic holes in golf.

Playing in this week’s Alfred Dunhill Links Championship in and around St. Andrews, David Howell was docked two strokes by his own caddie for teeing his ball up in front of the tee markers on the 18th hole at the Old Course at St. Andrews.

 

Under Rule 11-4, Howell was subject to a two-stroke penalty, which turned his par on the short par-4 into a double bogey to post a 72. Following his first-round 76 at Carnoustie on Friday, Howell is seven strokes off of the cut line with 18 holes at Kingsbarns remaining before the 54-hole cut.

[h.t GolfChannel.com]

 

— — — 

Keep yourself up-to-date with the latest goings-on in the world of golf by following the SwingxSwing Clubhouse on social media. We share stories, stats and breaking news on Twitter, keep the fun going off the course on Instagram and share any and all golf-related topics on Facebook.

Never be the odd golfer out when your friends are talking about the latest or funniest happenings in golf. Sign up for the SxS newsletter today!

Recommended For You

Swing By Swing logo